COMMISSIONERS SPECIAL MEETING

June 5, 2023

This meeting was called to order at 6:00 P.M. Commissioner Colby, Marsh, Harris, Cody Rohrbach, Bill Dennstaedt III, Aaron Bollar, Debbie Arnold, Steve Turcott, Peggy Mangis, Kyle Cordill, Dale Fulfs, Tony Harbolt, Kent Reitmeier, and Jim Gwin were present. Aaron Porter called in remotely to participate. The Agenda and Zoom call in information were posted on our website prior to the meeting for the public.

1. Orientation Meeting for Citizen Advisory Committee.

Introductions

Fire District History (Commissioner Colby)

Why a citizen advisory committee? Give our community a voice, allow for public input, seek opportunities for continual improvement.

- Why you: Diverse group of individuals to represent a cross section of our district
- Meeting Frequency: As needed, anticipated quarterly initially
- Duration 1-2 hours

About the Fire District (Chief Rohrbach)

- Mission Statement
- About Fire District 3 (map)
- Population Served- 23,500
- Fire District size, combination department. Largest geographically, largest volunteers
- Types of Incidents we respond, call volume
- Administration location
- Partners- Dispatch, AMR, wildland partners, mutual/auto aid, law enforcement
- Medical Lake
- Org Chart
- Shop- Fabrication, Maintenance

How we are funded (Exec Admin Deb Arnold)

- Levy
- Contracts- Spangle, DSHS
- Grants- SAFER, AFG
- Levy Rate explanation

Operations (Deputy Chief Dennstaedt)

- Response Model: 11 Stations: 9 on-call, 2 staffed
- Call volume, Station totals, Response times
- Training, participation
- Apparatus numbers/Fleet

Fire Marshall (Deputy Chief Bollar)

- Fire Prevention & Public Education
- Fire Marshall- permit review, life safety, code compliance
- Recruitment & Retention
- Pre-fire planning
- Facilities

Summary

Future meeting date & time. Topics: programmatic deep dives, strategic goals.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:00 P.M.

Spokane County Fire District #3

By: Sharon G. Poolby
Sharon Colby, Chairperson

By: <u>Naup Bal</u> Outro L amo (1)
Debra L. Arnold, Executive Administrator